Treibacher Chemische Werke, Althofen
Treibacher Industry AG is a chemical company in Althofen-Treibach, Carinthia. The company was established in 1898 by Carl Auer von Welsbach, the so-called "Treibacher Chemische Werke".
Known under the trade name "Auermetall", they produce flintstones for pocket lighter.
They also produce functional ceramic, ceramic coatings, components and assemblies, rare earths and products for steel industry and foundry.
Auer von Welsbach Museum:
The Auer von Welsbach-Museum offers a unique display of unique exhibits of the first metal filament lamp, an impressive collection of the rarest lighters and the earliest gas mantle light.
Apart from the first colour photographs in Austria, made by Carl Auer von Welsbach in 1908, the visitor will find the laboratory which is furnished with the original equipment and tools used by the most distinguished Austrian discoverer and inventor.
Manuscripts of famous scientists and innumerable other rarities augment this fascinating exhibit that is a pleasure for the lay and expert person alike.
Dr. Carl Auer von Welsbach (1858-1929) had a rare double talent of understanding how to pursue fundamental science and, at the same time, of commercializing himself successfully as an inventor and discoverer.
- He discovered 4 elements (Neodymium, Praseodymium, Ytterbium, and Lutetium).
- He invented the incandescent mantle, which helped gas lighting at the end of the 19th century to a renaissance.
- He developed the Ferrocerium - it's still used as a flint in every disposable lighter.
- He was an eminent authority, and great expert in the field of rare earths (lanthanides).
- He invented the electric metal filament light bulb which is used billions of times today.
Additionally, he activly took part in different fields, from photography to ornithology. His personal qualities are highly remembered by the people of Althofen, having not only an excellent mind but also a big heart. These qualities ensured him a prominent and lasting place not only in Austria's science and industrial history.
Research laboratory in original state
Prize: € 15,00
Departure: 9.15 a.m.
Arrival: 5.00 p.m.
Donau Chemie Werke, Brückl
The plant in Carinthia manufactures high-quality electrolysis products by the membrane process. Their innovative, proficient approach has set new standards in the development of advanced environmental technologies, for example in the recycling of used mordant agents and acids. A broad product range meets all existing market requirements: caustic soda, chlorine, sodium hydroxide, hydrochloric acid, iron(III) chloride, sodium hypochlorite, "Donau Klar" product line, Donau PAC
Hochosterwitz Castle (also known as Burg Hochosterwitz or Berg Hochosterwitz) is considered to be one of Austrias most impressive medieval castles. It is situated on a 160 m dolomite rock, east of the town of St. Veit an der Glan, in Carinthia, and can be seen from 30 km away on a clear day.
The castle was first mentioned in a document dating back to 860, when it was called Astorwiza or Astaruiza (its name being of Slovenian origin). In 1209, the Counts of Spanheim bestowed upon the family of Osterwitz the hereditary office of the cup-bearer. In the 15th century, the last cup-bearer of Osterwitz was captured in a Turkish invasion and died in prison without leaving descendants. Possession of the castle then reverted to Emperor Frederick III.
Some time in the early 16th century, Emperor Ferdinand I bestowed Hochosterwitz upon Governor Christof Khevenhller. In 1571, Baron George Khevenhller acquired the citadel by purchase. He fortified to deal with the threat of Turkish invasions of the region, building an armoury and 14 gates from 1570-1586. Such massive fortification is considered unique in citadel construction. Because of the 14 gates, each equipped with different treacherous methods of guarding the path, local legend maintains that the castle has never been conquered.
Since the 16th century, no major changes have been made to Hochosterwitz. It has also remained in the possession of the Khevenhller family as requested by the original builder, George Khevenhller. A marble plaque dating from 1576 in the castle yard documents this request.
Some parts of the castle are open to the public every year from Easter to the end of October. Tourists are allowed to walk the 620 meter long pathway through the 14 gates up to the castle; each gate has a diagram of the defence mechanism used to seal that particular gate.
Hochosterwitz Castle can be reached by car or an easy hike from the St. Veit an der Glan train station, with connection to nearby Klagenfurt.
Prize: € 15,00
Departure: 9.30 a.m.
Arrival: 5.00 p.m.
Infineon Technologies Austria AG
Infineon is a leading innovator in the international semiconductor industry. They design, develop, manufacture and market a broad range of semiconductors and complete system solutions targeted at selected industries. Their products serve applications in the wireless and wireline communications, automotive, industrial, computer, security and chip card markets. Their product portfolio consists of both memory and logic products and includes digital, mixed-signal and analogue integrated circuits (ICs) as well as discrete semiconductor products and system solutions. Infineon operates worldwide
Number of participants is limited to 45 persons
Old swords, inscription-stones and hill-graves prove that Landskron was already
settled in the 9th Century B.C. An amount of these founds are immured in the "Kronensaal" today. A document of King Karlmann from the year 878 reports that the possession was given to the monastery Altoetting in Bayern. 1028 Count Ozzi appears as new Lord, then the counts from Sternberg came, who built a Castle. 1330 the castle was sold to the Counts of Ortenburg.
1552 Emperor Karl V. was on Landskron. A son of Khevenhüller, called Bartlmä made a "Lustschloss" and ensured its ability to defence.
From 1584 till 1594 a 150 meter deep well was built. At the time of 1600 Landskron was the splendid count-centre of the Renaissance.
The castle was surrounded byh seven towers at a double wall. The main building had four floors, a high tower and strong defence tower.
1628 the evangelist aristocracy had to emigrate, and the castle was confiscated. 1639 count Dietrichstein acquired Landskron. In 1812 the castle was strucked by lightning and it burnt down.
A road leads to parking lots inside the castle. The ruin can be achieved by feet trough the forest. On the top of the castle you can enjoy a panoramic view of the "Karawanken", the "julischen Alpen" (Mountains), Villach, Ossiacher See and "Kanzelhöhe" (Mountain).
Performance of bird of prey
During this performance you can see free flying diurnal birds of prey. After stunning flights the birds come back to the falconer which is standing near the visitors. Attitude and habits of the diurnal birds of prey will be announced in detail.
This performance will take about 40 minutes.
Prize: € 15,00
Affenberg Landskron - "Monkey-Mountain"
You can see monkeys in nature, without any separation between the monkeys and the visitors. Under the special guidance you will learn all of the "Monkey's World". A specific attraction is the "swimming monkeys".
If you want to visit Monkey Mountain also the entrance will be added on Euro 7,--
Departure: 9:00 a.m.
Arrival: 5.30 p.m.